2010 May

Sports Management Conference in June

Posted by | News & Events | No Comments

The 2010 Conference of the North American Society for Sport Management (NASSM) will be held 1-5 June in Tampa, Fla.

Hosted by the University of Tampa, the conference will be held at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, a 35-acre resort-like hotel located alongside a wildlife preserve on the upper shores of Tampa Bay. It is just minutes from the beaches.

For more information, contact Dr. Ming Li at Ohio University or Dr. Ross Bartow at the University of Tampa.

Nick Saban Coming to Academy Campus to Receive Coach of the Year Award

Posted by | News & Events | No Comments

Amos Alonzo Stagg Coaching Award winner Nick Saban hoists the BCS championship trophy after his Alabama Crimson Tide defeated Texas 37-21 in the BCS title game.

University of Alabama head football coach Nick Saban will be at the United States Sports Academy’s Daphne campus to receive the 2009 Amos Alonzo Stagg award for outstanding men’s sports coach of the year at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, 18 May.

Saban, who earned his second career national title as a head coach this past season, will be presented the award at the Iron Bowl Monument, located on the campus near the corner of One Academy Drive and Main Street. The public is invited to attend the ceremony free of charge.

The Crimson Tide returned to the top of the college football world during Saban’s third season at the helm. He brought the school its first national championship since 1992 (and 13th overall) with a Bowl Championship Series (BCS) title game win over Texas, 37-21, to finish an undefeated season. Alabama also won its 22nd Southeastern Conference (SEC) championship and first since 1999 with a 32-13 win over No. 1 Florida in a battle of the country’s top-ranked teams. The victory over Florida was selected by the Academy as the 2009 College Football Game of the Year.

Saban also won the 2003 BCS championship at Louisiana State University. He has a career college record of 124-50-1 and is 33-8 during three seasons at Alabama.

The Amos Alonzo Stagg Coach of the Year Award is given annually to an individual who has experienced outstanding achievement as a coach and exhibits a high standard of propriety, imagination, and innovation as a character-builder in the tradition of great teacher-coaches. Stagg was an accomplished coach in many sports, and is acknowledged as the “Grand Old Man” of the gridiron. He was also a pioneer and innovator during a long and distinguished career associated with athletics. He finished his college head coaching career with a then-record 314 victories.

The Academy has been awarding the Stagg Coach of the Year Award since 1984. Late Grambling coach Eddie Robinson, who was the second to pass Stagg on the all-time college football coaching wins list, was the inaugural recipient of the award. Other past winners include Penn State’s Joe Paterno (1989 and 2001), Florida State’s Bobby Bowden (1992) and Duke and U.S. Olympic basketball team head coach Mike Krzyzewski (2008).

The Academy is an IRS-designated 501(c)(3) charitable organization able to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions. Your donation today is deeply appreciated. Donate Today
U.S. Sports Academy