College Football Game of the Year Committee Begins Sixth Season

Posted by | September 13, 2011 | News & Events | No Comments
2010 Game of the Year painting by Daniel Moore

2010 Game of the Year painting by Daniel Moore

United States Sports Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Committee will choose the best game of the season for the sixth time since its inception in 2005.

A national panel of experts picks a Game of the Week. Each week’s winner is then considered for the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year at the end of the regular season.

Last year, Auburn University won the Game of the Year award for its 22-19 victory over the University of Oregon in the Bowl Championship Series. It capped a perfect 14-0 record for Auburn, who during its national championship season defeated seven teams ranked in the final Associated Press Top 25 poll.

So far during the first two weeks of this college football season, Baylor University and University of Michigan have earned selection as the Game of the Week. In Week 1, Baylor knocked off No. 14 Texas Christian University, 50-48, to give the Bears their first win against a ranked opponent since 2004. In Week 2, a NCAA-record crowd of 114,804 at the new Michigan Stadium watched the Wolverines score on a 16-yard pass play with two seconds left to defeat the University of Notre Dame, 35-31.

The Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Award was developed to pay tribute to a team whose efforts in a game exemplify the spirit and principles of athletic endeavor, dedication and teamwork. The College Football Game of the Year Award is a part of the Academy’s Awards of Sport series.

Daniel Moore, the Academy’s American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the institution each year to create a painting honoring the Game of the Year. Traditionally, the Academy donates the painting to the winning university and $5,000 to its general scholarship fund.

The College Football Game of the Year Committee reads like a “Who’s Who” in college football. It consists of eminent sports leaders, such as former athletic directors, former college football coaches and individuals active in collegiate football who meet the criteria to serve on the committee and exhibit no bias in their vote.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former college football coach and athletic director best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as shown in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.” It also includes former
University of Georgia head coach and athletic director Vince Dooley.

College Football Game of the Year Award Recipients

  • 2006: Rutgers University,
    Rutgers 28, Louisville 25
  • 2007: Appalachian State University,
    Appalachian State 34, Michigan 32
  • 2008: Texas Tech University,
    Texas Tech 39, Texas 33
  • 2009: University of Alabama,
    Alabama 32, Florida 13
  • 2010: Auburn University,
    Auburn 22, Oregon 19
Start Your Career in Sports Today! Inquire Now
The Academy is an IRS-designated 501(c)(3) charitable organization able to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions. Your donation today is deeply appreciated. Donate Today.
U.S. Sports Academy