For the first time in the ten year history of the College Football Game of the Week program, the voting by a national blue-ribbon panel yielded two Game of the Week winners: Michigan State’s 27-23 win over Michigan and University of Memphis’ 37-24 stunning upset of #13 Ole Miss.

The #7 Michigan State Spartans used Michigan’s last-second miscue on a punt to beat in-State rival #12 Michigan Wolverines. Jalen Watts-Jackson grabbed a flubbed punt and lumbered 38 yards into the end zone for a touchdown on the final play of the game, giving Michigan State a shocking 27-23 win over Michigan. Michigan State played the game without a turnover and managed 386 total yards for the day. The Spartans also had 20 first downs compared to the Wolverine’s 10.

The University of Memphis Tigers used its high scoring offensive attack to beat the #13 ranked Ole Miss Rebels. The Tigers had 491 yards of total offense and kept the ball in their possession for 15 minutes more than did the Rebels to set the stage for their stunning upset the Rebels. Notably, Paxton Lynch threw for 384 yards and three touchdowns for a final score of 37 to 24 on Saturday. Memphis has won 13 straight games dating back to last season but it was the first win for the Tigers over a ranked opponent in 16 games since 1996.

Utah State’s 52-26 win over #21 Boise State was voted third in the contest.

An eminent national panel of 17 former and legendary coaches and administrators, chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy, selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Award.

Each weekly winner is entered into a pool of teams to be considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Past winners of these memorable games have included some stunning upsets, conference championship games, and BCS National Championship games.

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.

The United States Sports Academy is an independent, non-profit, regionally accredited, special mission Sports University created to serve the nation and world with programs in instruction, research, and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports. For more information about the Academy, call 251-626-3303 or visit