The United States Sports Academy recently added three members to the committee which vets and selects honorees for the institution’s prestigious Sport Artist of the Year Awards and oversees the collection at the American Sport Art Museum & Archives (ASAMA).

The Academy has a long history of supporting sport art, including coordinating the International Olympic Committee’s Art Competition for many years and each year awarding the Sport Artist of the Year through its Awards of Sport program.

New members Katrina Smith, Angela Phillips, and Amanda Youngblood recently joined the committee, which is chaired by Nancy Raia, the community outreach director at the Eastern Shore Art Center in Fairhope, Ala.

Smith is the marketing coordinator for Hargrove Engineers in Mobile, Ala. She has a background in art education, having earned a bachelor’s degree in art therapy from Springhill College and a master’s degree in K-12 art education from the University of South Alabama.

Phillips is an art teacher at Spanish Fort High School and is a member of the Daphne City Council. She holds a bachelor’s degree in secondary education and has served on the boards of the Eastern Shore Parents Aquatic Foundation and the Junior Chamber of Commerce’s Azalea Trail and Festival.

Youngblood is an art instructor at the University of South Alabama (USA) and an intermediate school art educator at St. Paul’s Episcopal School in Mobile. She holds a bachelor’s degree in fine arts in painting and serigraphy and a master’s degree in education from USA.

The committee includes other well-known artists and educators, including B.J. Cooper, Bruce Larsen, Stephen Savage, B’Beth Weldon, Robert Zimlich, and Academy Founder Dr. Thomas P. Rosandich.