Nick Saban, head football coach at the University of Alabama, hoists a crystal ball after the Crimson Tide won the 2009 Bowl Championship Series (BCS) national championship with a win over the University of Texas.

Nick Saban, the head football coach of the 2009 national champion University of Alabama, will be on the campus of the United States Sports Academy at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, 18 May 2010, to accept the Amos Alonzo Stagg Coach of the Year Award.

Saban will be presented the Coach of the Year Award at the Iron Bowl Monument, located on the campus of the Academy near the corner of One Academy Drive and Main Street in Daphne. The public is invited to attend the ceremony free of charge.

The Crimson Tide returned to the top of the college football world during Saban’s third season at the helm. He brought the school its first national championship since 1992 (and 13th overall) with a Bowl Championship Series (BCS) title game win over Texas, 37-21, to finish an undefeated season. Alabama also won its 22nd Southeastern Conference (SEC) championship and first since 1999 with a 32-13 win over No. 1 Florida in a battle of the country’s top-ranked teams. The victory over Florida was selected by the Academy as the 2009 College Football Game of the Year.

The national title was Saban’s second as a head college football coach, having won the 2003 BCS championship with LSU. He has a career college record of 124-50-1 and is 33-8 during three seasons at Alabama.

Saban is a native of Fairmont, W.Va., and a 1973 graduate of Kent State University. Saban and his wife, Terry, have two children, Nicholas and Kristen.

The Amos Alonzo Stagg Coach of the Year Award is given annually to an individual who has experienced outstanding achievement as a coach and exhibits a high standard of propriety, imagination, and innovation as a character-builder in the tradition of great teacher-coaches. Stagg was an accomplished coach in many sports, and is acknowledged as the “Grand Old Man” of the gridiron. He was also a pioneer and innovator during a long and distinguished career associated with athletics. He finished his college head coaching career with a then-record 314 victories.

The Academy has been awarding the Stagg Coach of the Year Award since 1984. Late Grambling coach Eddie Robinson, who was the first to pass Stagg on the all-time college football coaching wins list, was the inaugural recipient of the award. Other past winners include: Penn State’s Joe Paterno (1989 and 2001), Florida State’s Bobby Bowden (1992) and Duke and U.S. Olympic basketball team head coach Mike Krzyzewski (2008).