For the ninth consecutive season prominent college football experts around the country will be discussing, studying, and voting to determine the United States Sports Academy’s College Football Game of the Year.

 The process will all begin this week with the kickoff of the 2014-15 NCAA Division I (FBS) season as a select College Football Game of the Year Committee chooses a Game of the Week throughout the season.

The College Football Game of the Year Award was developed in 2005 to pay tribute to a team whose efforts in a college football game exemplify the principles of high athletic endeavor, complete dedication to victory, and unified team effort.  The College Football Game of the Year Award is a part of the Academy’s Awards of Sport series, which was established as “a tribute to the artist and the athlete.”

Nominations are submitted weekly by the committee, which culminate to determine a College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Fans are encouraged to follow the process along and compare their selected games of the week to the committee’s selection.

The College Football Game of the Year Committee reads like a “Who’s Who” in college football.  Consisting of eminent sport leaders, the committee contains former athletic directors and/or individuals active in collegiate football, who meet the criteria to serve on the committee and exhibit no bias in their vote.

The committee is chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former college football coach and athletic director best known for being the head coach that resurrected the Marshall University football program, as shown in the 2006 film “We Are Marshall.” It also includes former University of Georgia head coach and athletic director Vince Dooley.

Other members are former National Football Foundation CEO Robert Casciola, former National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Executive Director Mike Cleary, former Temple and Alabama State head coach Ron Dickerson; former Ohio State Athletic Director James Jones; American Football Monthly Managing Editor Rex Lardner, former University of Washington AD Mike Lude; former University of California AD Dave Maggard, sport artist Daniel Moore, former Arizona State AD Dick Tamburo; former Notre Dame associate AD Roger Valdiserri; former US Military Academy AD Al Vanderbush; and former Oklahoma State and Washington State AD Dr. Richard Young. The committee will also feature three members from the United States Sports Academy in Dr. Fred Cromartie, Director of Doctoral Studies; Dr. Arthur Ogden, Executive Director of the CFGOY program and Chair and of Sports Management; and Gid Rowell, the Director of Communications.

Moore, the American Sport Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is annually commissioned by the Academy to do a painting depicting the selected College Football Game of the Year. His painting of the 2013 College Football Game of the Year, features Auburn’s 34-28 victory over Alabama in the annual Iron Bowl.

Auburn’s last-second defeat of the previously unbeaten and two-time defending National Champion Alabama Crimson Tide beat out a litany of nail-biting gridiron contests at the conclusion of 17 weeks of voting. The now-famous runback of a missed Alabama field goal by Auburn senior Chris Davis with no time on the clock will be remembered for generations of college football fans to come and will be added as one of many defining moments in what is arguably college football’s greatest rivalry.

The United States Sports Academy is an independent, non-profit, accredited, special mission Sports University created to serve the nation and world with programs in instruction, research, and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports. For more information about the Academy, call 251-626-3303 or visit