For the seventh consecutive season, prominent college football experts from around the country will be discussing, studying, and voting to determine the United States Sports Academy’s College Football Game of the Year.

The College Football Game of the Year Award was developed in 2005 to pay tribute to a team whose efforts in a college football game exemplify the principles of high athletic endeavor, complete dedication to victory, and unified team effort. The College Football Game of the Year Award is a part of the Academy’s Awards of Sport series, which was established as “a tribute to the artist and the athlete.”

"The Shutout" is the 2011 College Football Game of the Year painting by Daniel Moore, the Academy's 2005 Sport Artist of the Year.

Each week the committee selects a Game of the Week with the weekly winners then qualifying for consideration for selection as the College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Fans are encouraged to follow the process along and compare their selected games of the week to the committee’s selection.

Already this season, the College Football Game of the Year Committee has selected Virginia Tech for its overtime 20-17 victory over Georgia Tech as the Week 1 winner and Louisiana Monroe’s stunning 34-31 overtime upset of previously No. 8-ranked Arkansas as the Week 2 winner.

The Committee reads like a “Who’s Who” in college football, including eminent athletic directors, football coaches and other sport leaders, who meet the criteria to serve on the committee and exhibit no bias in their vote.

Jack Lengyel chairs the selection committee. He is the former longtime U.S. Naval Academy athletic director who is best known for being the head coach that resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film “We Are Marshall.”

Other members are: former National Football Foundation CEO Robert Casciola, former National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) executive director Mike Cleary; former Temple University head football coach Ron Dickerson; former University of Georgia athletic director and head football coach Vince Dooley; former Ohio State athletic director James Jones; American Football Monthly and Gridiron Strategies Managing Editor Rex Lardner, former University of Washington AD Mike Lude; former University of California AD Dave Maggard; the Academy’s 2005 Sport Artist of the Year Daniel Moore; former Arizona State AD Dick Tamburo; former Notre Dame associate AD Roger Valdiserri; and former Oklahoma State and Washington State AD Dr. Richard Young.

Moore is annually commissioned by the Academy to do a painting depicting the selected College Football Game of the Year. Moore’s painting of the 2011 College Football Game of the Year, immortalizes the University of Alabama’s 21-0 shutout of Louisiana State University in the national championship game.

Each year, the Academy’s American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) commissions Moore to create a painting honoring the Game of the Year selection. The Academy will donate the painting and contribute $5,000 to the winning school’s general scholarship fund. Daniel Moore’s painting of the Game of the Year can be purchased online at

The United States Sports Academy is the largest graduate school of sport education in the world. The Academy became the first and only free standing, accredited university in America devoted entirely to sport programs when it opened in 1972, a distinction that continues to this day.

College Football Game of the Year Award Recipients:

2006: Rutgers University
Rutgers 28, Louisville 25

2007: Appalachian State University
Appalachian State 34, Michigan 32

2008: Texas Tech University
Texas Tech 39, Texas 33

2009: University of Alabama
Alabama 32, Florida 13

2010: University of Auburn
Auburn 22, Oregon 19

2011: University of Alabama
Alabama 21, LSU 0