For the eighth consecutive season, prominent college football experts from around the country are ready to decide the United States Sports Academy’s 2013 College Football Game of the Year.

The College Football Game of the Year Award was developed in 2005 to pay tribute to a team whose efforts in a game exemplify the spirit and principles of athletic endeavor, dedication and teamwork. The College Football Game of the Year Award is a part of the Academy’s Awards of Sport series.

Jack Lengyel, chairman of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Committee, and Daniel Moore, the Academy’s 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, are scheduled to present the 2012 award to Texas A&M at 5:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 13 at the George Bush Presidential Library in College Station, Texas. The award ceremony is the day before the Aggies’ rematch with Alabama. Texas A&M was chosen for its shocking, 29-24, victory last year on Nov. 10 over top-ranked Alabama in the teams’ first ever Southeastern Conference showdown.

The award includes the Game of the Year painting, “Turning the Tide,” by Moore, which features Heisman Trophy quarterback Johnny Manziel eluding Alabama defenders. In addition, the Academy is making a $5,000 donation to Texas A&M’s 12th Man Foundation.

The 2012 College Football Game of the Year painting by Daniel Moore, the Academy’s 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is called “Turning the Tide.” It features Texas A&M’s Heisman Trophy quarterback Johnny Manziel in the Aggies, 29-24, upset of top-ranked Alabama.

Each week the committee selects a Game of the Week with the weekly winners then qualifying for consideration for selection as the Game of the Year at the end of the season. Fans are encouraged to follow the process along and compare their selected games of the week to the committee’s selection.

Already this season, the College Football Game of the Year Committee has selected Clemson for its 38-35 victory over Georgia as the Week 1 winner and Michigan’s 41-30 defeat of Notre Dame as the Week 2 winner.

The committee reads like a “Who’s Who” in college football, including eminent athletic directors, football coaches and other sport leaders, who meet the criteria to serve on the committee and exhibit no bias in their vote.

Lengyel, the committee chairman, is a former longtime U.S. Naval Academy athletic director who is best known for being the head coach that resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Other members are: former National Football Foundation CEO Robert Casciola, former National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) executive director Mike Cleary; former Temple University head football coach Ron Dickerson; former University of Georgia athletic director and head football coach Vince Dooley; former Ohio State athletic director James Jones; American Football Monthly and Gridiron Strategies Managing Editor Rex Lardner, former University of Washington AD Mike Lude; former University of California AD Dave Maggard; sport artist Moore; former Arizona State AD Dick Tamburo; former Notre Dame associate AD Roger Valdiserri; and former Oklahoma State and Washington State AD Dr. Richard Young.

Each year, the Academy’s American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) commissions Moore to create a painting honoring the Game of the Year selection made in January. The Academy donates the painting and contributes $5,000 to the winning school’s general scholarship fund. Moore’s painting of the Game of the Year can be purchased online at

The United States Sports Academy is the largest graduate school of sport education in the world. The Academy became the first and only free standing university in America devoted entirely to sport programs when it opened in 1972, a distinction that continues to this day. It is regionally accredited at the bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral levels.

College Football Game of the Year Award Recipients:

2006: Rutgers University
Rutgers 28, Louisville 25

2007: Appalachian State University
Appalachian State 34, Michigan 32

2008: Texas Tech University
Texas Tech 39, Texas 33

2009: University of Alabama
Alabama 32, Florida 13

2010: University of Auburn
Auburn 22, Oregon 19

2011: University of Alabama
Alabama 21, LSU 0

2012: Texas A&M University
Texas A&M 29, Alabama 24