Florida State overcame an 18-point deficit to beat Auburn 34-31 in the final Bowl Championship Series National Championship game.

The game that ended the Southeastern Conference’s seven-game winning streak in title game and gave FSU its third championship was named the United States Sports Academy’s Game of the Week for Week 16.

Trailing 31-27 to the Tigers, the Seminoles’ Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Jameis Winston threw a touchdown pass to Kelvin Benjamin with 13 seconds left to take the lead and the win. The pass ended an exciting series of plays in the final minutes of the contest.

After a 22-yard Cody Parkey field goal that put the Tigers up by four, FSU’s Levonte Whitfield answered with a 100-yard kickoff return that gave the Seminoles their first lead of the game.

Auburn’s Tre Mason added to the team’s 232 rushing yards with a 37-yard jaunt into the end zone to give Auburn a 31-27 lead late in the game, but Winston led the Seminoles down the field with just a little more than a minute left to score and seal the win.

Winston went 20-for-35 with two touchdowns through the air. The FSU ground attack gained 148 yards on 31 attempts. Auburn’s Nick Marshall went 14-for-27 with two touchdowns.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best college football game of the year at the end of the season. Last season’s winner was Texas A&M’s 29-24 shocking upset of Alabama in the SEC showdown.

The committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.