For the last seven seasons and 11 of the last 12, Boise State has dismantled Mountain West foe Fresno State. In fact, Boise State posted wins of more than 30 points a game, since Fresno State’s last win in 2005.

Fresno State was determined to overcome its nemesis this time and rallied for a game-winning touchdown late in the fourth quarter to pull off a victory, 41-40, in front of a sold-out, hometown crowd. For snapping its seven game losing streak in a game that featured 1,083 yards of total offense, the Bulldogs earned selection as the Week 4 winner of the United States Sports Academy’s College Football Game of the Year contest.

Fresno State was led by quarterback Derek Carr, who threw for 460 yards and four touchdowns and led the game-winning drive after the Bulldogs had blown a 15-point lead, 34-19, with 58 seconds left in the third quarter.

Carr came through with the biggest drive of his career by calmly completing 8 of 11 passes on the go-ahead score. Bulldogs’ running back Josh Quezada capped the 13-play, 87-yard drive with a 1-yard run with 2:14 remaining in the fourth quarter that put Fresno State back in front, 41-40.

Boise State’s Aaron Baltazar had run for two scores, and Broncos quarterback Joe Southwick added another as Boise State scored three touchdowns in less than 9 minutes to turn a 34-19 deficit into a 40-34 lead with just over 7 minutes remaining in the game.

The back-and-forth, fast-paced game started in the opening half and never eased up. The first half featured eight scores, 567 yards of offense and 97 offensive plays as Fresno State took a 24-19 lead at the break.

Its rousing victory catapulted Fresno State (3-0) to rankings in the Top 25 in the college football polls.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Last season’s winner was Texas A&M’s 29-24 shocking upset of Alabama in a Southeastern Conference showdown.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.