Georgia faced three top 10 teams in the first four football games of its season and now is ranked No. 6 in the country, well-positioned to win its third straight Southeastern Conference East title and in the thick of an SEC and national championship race.

Although it lost its season-opener to No. 3 Clemson, Georgia followed up with victories over SEC rivals South Carolina and LSU, which were both ranked No. 6 when they faced the Bulldogs.

Georgia’s thrilling come from behind victory, 44-41, over LSU earned it selection as the Week 5 winner of the United States Sports Academy’s College Football Game of the Year contest.

Georgia’s senior quarterback Aaron Murray led the high-powered Bulldogs offense with four touchdowns through the air and one on the ground. Murray, who finished with 298 yards passing, led the Bulldogs on its winning drive with about four minutes left in the game. He completed three straight passes to quickly move the Bulldogs into LSU territory, and freshman J.J. Green broke loose for an 18-yard run to the Tigers 25. Murray then found wide receiver Justin Scott-Wesley wide open for a 25-yard TD with 1:47 remaining.

The Bulldogs (3-1, 2-0 SEC) were only the fourth team since the BCS began in 1998 to face three top 10 teams in the first four games of a season. The Bulldogs opened with a 38-35 nonconference loss to Clemson, but came back to beat South Carolina 41-30 and now LSU.

LSU had taken the lead, 41-37, on Jeremy Hill’s 8-yard touchdown run with 4:14 to go. The Tigers (4-1, 1-1) got a career-best 372 yards passing from former Georgia quarterback Zach Mettenberger.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Last season’s winner was Texas A&M’s 29-24 shocking upset of Alabama in a Southeastern Conference showdown.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.

The United States Sports Academy is an independent, non-profit, accredited, special mission sports university created to serve the nation and world with programs in instruction, research, and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports. For more information about the Academy, call 251-626-3303 or visit