Who were the greatest athletes of 2010? Have your say in the United States Sports Academy’s Athlete of the Year balloting, presented to the world by NBCSports.com and USATODAY.com. Balloting begins at noon, 1 December 2010.

The Athlete of the Year ballot is the culmination of the Academy’s yearlong Athlete of the Month program, which recognizes the accomplishments of men and women in sports around the globe. The Academy Athlete of the Month is selected by an international voting committee comprised of members of the media, sports organizations and governing bodies.

There are 12 male and 12 female candidates for Athlete of the Year. The Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards will go to the athletes that receive the most votes. Votes can be submitted on the Academy’s website.

Balloting is open until 24 December. Last year’s winners were boxing champion Manny Pacquiao of the Phillipines and pole vaulter Yelena Isinbaeva of Russia.

The men’s ballot consists of, in alphabetical order: Drew Brees, professional football, United States; Kobe Bryant, professional basketball, United States; Ashton Eaton, track and field, United States; Roy Halladay, baseball, United States; Jimmie Johnson, Auto Racing, United States; Phil Mickleson, golf, United States; Rafael Nadal, tennis, Spain; Cameron Newton, College Football, United States; Manny Pacquiao, boxing, Phillipines; David Rudisha, track and field, Kenya; David Villa, soccer, Spain; and Shaun White, snowboarding/skateboarding, United States.

The women’s ballot consists of: Foluke Akinradewo, volleyball, United States; Amelie Caze, modern pentathlon, France; Kim Clijsters, tennis, Belgium; Lauren Jackson, professional basketball, Australia; Cristie Kerr, golf, United States; Maya Moore, college basketball, United States; Li Ping, weightlifting, China; Liliya Shobukhova, marathon, Russia; Jodie Swallow, triathlon, United Kingdom; Lindsey Vonn, skiing, United States; Serena Williams, tennis, United States; and Kim Yu-Na, figure skating, South Korea.