Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein led a comeback on the road against Big 12 rival and No. 6-ranked Oklahoma to earn selection as the Week 4 winner of the United States Sports Academy’s 2012 College Football Game of the Year Contest.

In the first half Klein threw for only 42 yards but in the fourth quarter he came alive. Klein sparked the No. 15-ranked Kansas State (4-0) victory, 24-19, over Oklahoma by throwing for 72 yards on 4-of-5 passing in the fourth quarter as he led his team on two touchdown drives.

Last year's United States Sports Academy's College Football Game of the Year was Alabama's shutout, 21-0, of LSU in the national championship game. Daniel Moore's painting of the Game of the Year can be purchased online at newlifeart.com.

Klein, who picked up 228 yards of total offense, scored the go-ahead touchdown on a five yard run early in the fourth quarter that put Kansas State up, 17-13. John Hubert added the final TD on a 9-yard run and racked up 130 yards rushing total.

Oklahoma’s Landry Jones, who threw for 298 yards, responded with a 65-yard scoring drive with 4:09 left. However, Kansas State ran out the rest of the clock.

Oklahoma committed three turnovers in the game, which helped seal its doom. Kansas State’s Jarell Childs scooped up a fumble near the goal line by the Sooner’s Jones and returned it for a score and Jones also threw an interception that put Kansas State in the position to go ahead. Another Oklahoma drive to within a yard of a touchdown was fumbled away on a snap by the backup quarterback.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.

The United States Sports Academy is an independent, non-profit, accredited, special mission sports university created to serve the nation and world with programs in instruction, research, and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports. For more information about the Academy, call 251-626-3303 or visit www.ussa.edu.