Kansas State remained the only undefeated Big 12 team and in the hunt for the national title by cruising to a 55-14 victory on the road against West Virginia.

Last year's United States Sports Academy's College Football Game of the Year was Alabama's shutout, 21-0, of LSU in the national championship game. Daniel Moore's painting of the Game of the Year can be purchased online at newlifeart.com.

The No. 4-ranked Wildcats’ dominating performance in a battle for first place in the conference earned it selection as the Week 8 winner of the United States Sports Academy’s 2012 College Football Game of the Year Contest.

Kansas State was led by their Heisman Trophy front-runner quarterback Collin Klein, who three for three TDs and ran for four more to help Kansas State improve its record to 7-0 overall and 4-0 in the Big 12. Klein, who completed 19 of 21 passes, threw for a career-high 323 yards and he added another 41 yards rushing.

Klein’s option keeper for an 8-yard scoring run with 4:27 left in the second quarter put Kansas State ahead 24-0, and it gave him 39 rushing touchdowns over the last two seasons. That breaks an FBS record held by Eric Crouch of Nebraska and Stacey Robinson of Northern Illinois.

KSU went up 31-7 at the half by scoring four touchdowns and a field goal on five possessions and rolling up 346 yards. Kansas State made it 52-7 with 2:25 left in the third quarter when Klein hit Tyler Lockett over the middle for a 20-yard score.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.