Louisiana-Monroe recorded its first victory over a ranked team since 1994, when it rallied from three touchdowns behind in the third quarter to shock previously No. 8 Arkansas.

The upset earned the Warkhawks selection as the Week 2 winner of the United States Sports Academy’s 2012 College Football Game of the Year Contest.

Last year's United States Sports Academy's College Football Game of the Year was Alabama's shutout, 21-0, of LSU in the national championship game. Daniel Moore's painting of the Game of the Year can be purchased online at newlifeart.com.

Louisiana-Monroe quarterback Kolton Browning led the comeback by throwing for 412 yards and running for 69 yards. His last carry was a 16-yard winding scramble in overtime on fourth-and-1 that ended with Browning diving into the end zone for the game-winning touchdown that left the Razorbacks crowd in stunned silence.

The Warhawks (1-0) trailed, 28-7, before mounting a comeback to win the game, 34-31, over Arkansas (1-1), which had expected to contend for the SEC and national championships this season. It was Louisiana-Monroe’s first victory over a Southeastern Conference team since defeating Alabama in 2007. The Warhawks are 4-34 against the SEC, with their only other win coming against Mississippi State in 1995.

It is also the Sun Belt Conference’s first win over a top 10 team, and the league’s first over a ranked opponent since Troy defeated Missouri in 2004.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.