The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced Bill Byrne, the former director of athletics at Texas A&M, as their 2014 James J. Corbett Memorial Award recipient.

Byrne served as a director of athletics for 29 years and now serves as the special advisor to the President at Texas A&M.

Given annually since 1967, the James J. Corbett Memorial Award is named in honor of the former Louisiana State University director of athletics and the first president of the NACDA and given “to the collegiate administrator who through the years has most typified Corbett’s devotion to intercollegiate athletics and worked unceasingly for its betterment.”

Also, the NACDA recently announced their 2014 Hall of Fame Class.

The 2014 Hall of Fame Class consists of Jim Livengood of the University of Nevada in Las Vegas, Bill Bradshaw of Temple University, Gene DeFilippo of Boston College, Kathleen Brasfield of Angelo State and Bob Myers of Solana Community College.

Jim Livengood became the director of athletics at the University of Las Vegas in Nevada (UNLV) in December of 2009. Livengood hired a new head football coach within two weeks of accepting the position. Before he was the director of athletics at UNLV he spent 15 years serving the athletics program at the University of Arizona. The student-athlete graduation rate continued to be superior to the overall student rate during his tenure at the University.

Bradshaw, former director of athletics for the Temple University Owls, served 11 years before retiring in June of 2013. Under his advisement, the Owl’s Athletic Department set several records including that of 15 teams earning above a 3.0 cumulative grade point average, increasing corporate sponsorship, and fundraising ticket sales to $11.4 million. Thirty-eight teams from Temple University attended NCAA Tournaments under his advisement.

Gene DeFilippo, former director of athletics at Boston College, helped redeem the name of the University after a gambling scandal injured the College’s reputation prior to his fulfilling this position. He retired in 2012 after serving the University for 15 years. While under his tenure, DeFilippo led the College from the Big East Conference to the Atlantic Coast Conference and won four NCAA men’s hockey championships.

Angelo State University won their first two NCAA Division II championships under the direction of Kathleen Brasfield, the University’s former director of athletics. Brasfield announced her retirement in 2012 after serving 33 years at the University. Brasfield was hired in 1978 as the women’s volleyball coach and advanced to the position of the women’s director of athletics in 1982.

Director of Athletics for Solano Community College Bob Myers has over 15 years of college coaching experience. Myers has approximately 33 articles published in Physical Education and Athletics Professional Journals internationally. Myers coached three NCAA national champions, 27 NCAA all-Americans, and three Olympians. Myers was awarded the Western Regional Community College Athletics Director of the Year from the NACDA in 2004.

The recipients of these awards will be honored at the annual NACDA and Affiliates Convention Week 5-12 June 2014 in Orlando, Fla. Last year’s Corbett winner was Jim Jones of Ohio State University. The previous class of the NACDA Hall of Fame consisted of Dorothy ‘Dot’ Casey of Wake Forest University, Bob Goin of the University of Cincinnati, Jim Harris of the University of Alabama in Huntsville, Jack Martin of the County College of Morris; Arthur McAfee of Morehouse College, Larry Schiner of New Jersey City University and Gerald Stockton of Midwestern State University.