Oklahoma State senior Clint Chelf, who lost the starting job earlier this season, looked like the Heisman Trophy quarterback on the field against Baylor.

Chelf passed for a career-high 370 yards passing for three TDs and running for another as the No. 10 Cowboys dismantled the No. 4 Bears 49-17 in the Big 12 Conference game. The upset earned Oklahoma State selection as the Week 13 winner of the United States Sports Academy’s College Football Game of the Year contest.

A record crowd of 60,218 in Boone Pickens Stadium reveled in the Cowboys probable ending of any shot Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty’s had at the Heisman and knocking the Bears out of national title contention.

Oklahoma State (10-1) shutdown a Baylor (9-1) offense that entered the game averaging a national-best 61.2 points and 684.8 yards per game. The Bears mustered just 453 yards of total offense which was just a little more than Chelf who racked up 438 yards passing, running and even receiving a 48-yard pass.

Oklahoma State forced three Baylor fumbles and also stopped the Bears on two key fourth-down attempts in the second half—both which led to Cowboys’ touchdowns. One of Baylor quarterback Petty’s fumbles was returned 78 yards for a TD to put the Cowboys up 42-10 early in the fourth quarter. Petty also had a costly fumble on Baylor’s opening drive when he stumbled, fell and turned the ball over on the 1-yard line.

Baylor’s 13-game win streak was snapped and it remains winless in Stillwater since 1939. Oklahoma State has won 10 or more games in three of the last four seasons, and can win the Big 12 by beating rival Oklahoma at home in two weeks.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Last season’s winner was Texas A&M’s 29-24 shocking upset of Alabama in a Southeastern Conference showdown.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.

The United States Sports Academy is an independent, non-profit, accredited, special mission sports university created to serve the nation and world with programs in instruction, research, and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports. For more information about the Academy, call 251-626-3303 or visit www.ussa.edu.