Academy President and CEO Dr. Thomas P. Rosandich has been reappointed by Jacques Rogge, the President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), to the IOC’s Culture and Olympic Education Commission. Dr. Rosandich continues to be the only American serving on any of the IOC’s commissions.

Dr. Jordan Moon, the Academy’s Department Head of Sports Fitness and Health, made a presentation, “Are all calories created equal?” which looked at how human bodies treats different foods, at the 2012 Arnold Sports Festival and Strength Training Summit in Columbus, Ohio.

Mina Papatheodorou-Valyraki, the Academy’s 2002 Sport Artist of the Year, pictured with some of her paintings. The National Art Museum of Sport (NAMOS) in Indianapolis will exhibit her Formula 1 works in April.

Betsy Smith, the Academy’s Director of Academic Administration and Continuing Education, earned the Professional Tennis Registry (PTR) Member of the Year for Alabama during the 2012 PTR International Tennis Symposium in Orlando, Fla.

Dr. Dave Shrock, an Academy national faculty member and 2009 doctoral alumnus, was selected by USA Track & Field to coach the men’s distance runners at the 2012 IAAF World Indoor Track and Field Championships in Istanbul, Turkey. Shrock is a long-time professor and former track coach at Modesto Junior College in California.

Judy Sweet, one of the first women to serve on the Academy’s Board of Trustees and who holds an honorary doctorate, was recently selected by the Street & Smith’s SportsBusiness Journal as one of  six of its magazine’s “The Champions: Pioneers and Innovators in Sports Business.” The award recognizes leaders who have devoted their careers to building and shaping the sports industry.

Mina Papatheodorou-Valyraki, the Academy’s 2002 Sport Artist of the Year, will have an exhibit of her Formula 1 paintings featured at the National Art Museum of Sport (NAMOS) in Indianapolis beginning in April and running through the Indianapolis 500 race.

Ng Ser Miang, who was presented the Academy’s Distinguished Service Award last year for his role in the successful staging of the inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in Singapore, is considering running to replace Jacques Rogge as the President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) in 2013. The 62-year-old Ng Ser Miang was elected as a member of the IOC in 1998 and is currently one of the organization’s four vice presidents.

Ann Meyers Drysdale, the 2006 winner of the Academy’s Ronald Reagan Media Award, served as the keynote speaker for the week-long National Girls & Women in Sports Day Celebration at the University of Texas at El Paso. Meyers Drysdale was a four-time All-American basketball player at UCLA and she is a standout broadcaster, having worked four Olympics during her TV career.