Collegiate Football Game of the Year Program Kicks Off

By October 7, 2014News & Events
game of the year

As the 2014-2015 college football season rolls along with all the anticipation pointing to the first-ever College Football Playoff for NCAA Division I (FBS) teams, the United States Sports Academy is rolling right along with it.

For the ninth consecutive year, the Academy is conducting its College Football Game of the Year Award, which was developed in 2005 to pay tribute to a team whose efforts in a college football game exemplify the principles of high athletic endeavor, complete dedication to victory, and unified team effort.

The College Football Game of the Year Award is part of the Academy’s Awards of Sport series, a function of the American Sport Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA), which was established as “a tribute to the artist and the athlete.”

Nominations for the Game of the Year are submitted weekly by a Game of the Year Committee, and culminate in a single winner at the end of the year determined by the Committee.

Consisting of eminent sport leaders, the College Football Game of the Year Committee is comprised of former athletic directors and coaches along with individuals active in collegiate football, who meet specific criteria to serve on the committee and exhibit no bias in their vote.

The College Football Game of the Year Committee reads like a “Who’s Who” in college football and is chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former college football coach and athletic director best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program. It also includes former University of Georgia Head Football Coach and Athletic Director, Vince Dooley.

Other Committee members are former National Football Foundation CEO, Robert Casciola; former National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Executive Director, Mike Cleary; former Temple and Alabama State Head Coach, Ron Dickerson; former Ohio State Athletic Director James Jones; Managing Editor of the American Football Monthly, Rex Lardner; former University of Washington AD, Mike Lude; former University of California AD, Dave Maggard; sport artist Daniel Moore; former Arizona State AD, Dick Tamburo; former Notre Dame Associate AD, Roger Valdiserri; former AD at Army, Al Vanderbush; former Texas Christian University AD, Frank Windegger; and former Oklahoma State and Washington State AD, Dr. Richard Young;

Moore, the ASAMA 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is annually commissioned by the Academy to render a painting depicting a memorable and pivotal moment to commemorate the selected College Football Game of the Year.  In addition, the Academy contributes $5000 to the winning university’s scholarship fund.

Past winners of the Academy’s Game of the Year Award include Rutgers University in 2006, Appalachian State University in 2007, Texas Tech University in 2008, the University of Alabama in 2009 and 2011, Texas A&M University in 2012, and Auburn University in 2010 and 2013

The 2014-15 year promises to be particularly exciting and interesting since it is the inaugural year of the College Football Playoff, which promises to prompt keen competition and eager fan participation and anticipation.

Fans are encouraged to follow the Academy’s Game of the Year process and compare their selected games of the week to the committee’s selection.

%d bloggers like this: