The 2014-2015 college football regular season is now in the books and the United States Sports Academy’s Game of the Year Committee is looking to the beginning of the Bowl Season and the inaugural year of the College Football Playoff for NCAA Division I (FBS) teams.

There are some 40 Bowls this season beginning on 20 December with the National Championship Game being played on 12 January 2015 at the impressive AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

For the ninth consecutive year, the Academy has conducted its College Football Game of the Year Award, which was developed in 2005 to pay tribute to a team whose efforts in a college football game exemplify the principles of high athletic endeavor, complete dedication to victory, and unified team effort.

The College Football Game of the Year Award is part of the Academy’s Awards of Sport series, a function of the American Sport Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA), which was established as “a tribute to the artist and the athlete.”

Nominations for the Game of the Year have been submitted weekly by a Game of the Year Committee, and will culminate in a single winner at the end of the year determined by the Committee.

Consisting of eminent sport leaders, the College Football Game of the Year Committee is comprised of former athletic directors and coaches along with individuals active in collegiate football, who meet specific criteria to serve on the committee and exhibit no bias in their vote.

The College Football Game of the Year Committee reads like a “Who’s Who” in college football and is chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former college football coach and athletic director best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program. It also includes former University of Georgia Head Football Coach and Athletic Director, Vince Dooley.

Other Committee members are former National Football Foundation CEO, Robert Casciola; former National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Executive Director, Mike Cleary; former Temple and Alabama State Head Coach, Ron Dickerson; former Ohio State Athletic Director James Jones; Managing Editor of the American Football Monthly, Rex Lardner; former University of Washington AD, Mike Lude; former University of California AD, Dave Maggard; sport artist Daniel Moore; former Arizona State AD, Dick Tamburo; former Notre Dame Associate AD, Roger Valdiserri; former AD at Army, Al Vanderbush; former Texas Christian University AD, Frank Windegger; and former Oklahoma State and Washington State AD, Dr. Richard Young;

Daniel Moore, the ASAMA 2005 Sport Artist of the Year who has been long celebrated for his vivid depictions of SEC football moments, is annually commissioned by the Academy to render a painting portraying a memorable and pivotal moment to commemorate the selected College Football Game of the Year.

Moore’s most recent painting for the Game of the Year was entitled “The Runback” capturing Auburn’s Chris Davis’ “kick six” return of a failed field goal against Rival Alabama in the 2013 Iron Bowl.

In addition, the Academy contributes $5000 to the winning university’s scholarship fund.

Past winners of the Academy’s Game of the Year Award include Rutgers University in 2006, Appalachian State University in 2007, Texas Tech University in 2008, the University of Alabama in 2009 and 2011, Texas A&M University in 2012, and Auburn University in 2010 and 2013

The 2014-15 weekly winners have provided many exciting games and are listed below:

Week #1 Texas A&M over South Carolina 52-28
Week #2 Virginia Tech over Ohio State 35-21
Week #3 Boston College over USC 37-31
Week #4 Mississippi State over LSU 34-29
Week #5 Missouri over South Carolina 21-20
Week #6 Arizona over Oregon 31-24
Week #7 Baylor over TCU 61-58
Week #8 West Virginia over Baylor 41-27
Week #9 LSU over Ole Miss 10-7
Week #10 Auburn over Ole Miss 35-31
Week #11 Texas A&M over Auburn 41-38
Week #12 Alabama over Mississippi State 25-20
Week #13 Arkansas over Ole Miss 30-0
Week #14 Ole Miss over Mississippi State 31-17
Week #15 Ohio State over Wisconsin 59-0

The Academy’s Game of the Year Committee invites you to watch the games during this Bowl Season and look for the winner of the Game of the Year, which will be released shortly after the National Championship Game.