The Stanford defense solved the Oregon’s top-rated offense that had scored at least 42 points in its 13-game winning streak and had averaged more than 300 yards rushing a game.

Last year's United States Sports Academy's College Football Game of the Year was Alabama's shutout, 21-0, of LSU in the national championship game. Daniel Moore's painting of the 2011 Game of the Year can be purchased online at

Stanford eliminated the big play from the Ducks high-powered offense, holding it to 14 points and 198 yards on the ground. The stifling Stanford defense propelled its team to a 17-14 victory in overtime and knocked No. 1 Oregon from the national title race. The upset on the road also earned Stanford selection as the Week 12 winner of the United States Sports Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest.

Oregon’s Alejandro Maldonado missed a 41-yard field goal for the Ducks to open overtime before Stanford kicker Jordan Williamson, booted a 37-yard game-winning field goal. Oregon’s 14 points were its fewest points in a game since Sept. 3, 2009 when they lost to Boise State, 19-8

Outside of Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota’s 77-yard scramble in the first half, the Stanford defense held the Ducks to four rushes that gained 10 or more yards and prevented Oregon from passing the line of scrimmage on 10 of its 40 rushes.

No. 14 Stanford’s (9-2 overall, 7-1 conference) fifth straight victory puts it in position to play in the Pac-12 championship for a chance to go to the Rose Bowl. Oregon (10-1, 7-1) had won the Pac-12 the past two seasons.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.