Despite being outgained by 205 yards on offense, Stanford never trailed Washington during the Pacific-12 Conference matchup of unbeaten teams.

The fifth-ranked Stanford held on to edge No. 15 Washington, 31-28, for its 13th victory in a row and earned selection as the Week 6 winner of the United States Sports Academy’s College Football Game of the Year contest.

Ty Montgomery sprinted up the middle untouched to open the game with a 99-yard kickoff return for a Stanford touchdown. Montgomery also had a 39-yard TD reception with 11 seconds before half and give the Cardinal a lead, 17-7.

Montgomery finished with 290 all-purpose yards and two touchdowns, catching three passes for 56 yards, rushing for 30 yards on two carries and racking up 204 yards returning kicks.

Washington (4-1) outgained Stanford (5-0) 489-284 in total yards and the Huskies accumulated a whopping 30 first downs to 14 for Stanford. However, Washington was mistake-prone, committing costly turnovers and penalties against the defending Pac-12 and Rose Bowl champions.

The game ended in the final minutes when officials overturned a fourth-down, 16-yard reception by Washington wide receiver Kevin Smith, who dived for the catch. After reviewing TV replays, officials said the ball hit the ground. Huskies quarterback Keith Price threw for 350 yards, two touchdowns and one interception.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Last season’s winner was Texas A&M’s 29-24 shocking upset of Alabama in a Southeastern Conference showdown.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.
The United States Sports Academy is an independent, non-profit, accredited, special mission sports university created to serve the nation and world with programs in instruction, research, and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports. For more information about the Academy, call 251-626-3303 or visit