The Temple Owls took out forty-one years of frustration over their instate rivals, Penn State, in an impressive 27-10 victory over the Nittany Lions in Philadelphia on Saturday. The Owls defense dominated and overwhelmed Penn State sacking highly regarded quarterback Christian Hackenberg 10 times. It was total domination as Temple outgained Penn State 317-191 yards. Needless to say, perhaps the once intense rivalry between Temple and Penn State may have taken a step in the direction of re-igniting a more interesting instate rivalry.

For their impressive performance against Penn State, Temple University has been honored with the United States Sports Academy’s Game of the Week honors.

Unranked Northwestern’s 16-6 victory over #21 Stanford, was selected as the second best game of the week, while BYU’s last second Hail Mary Pass gave them a 33-28 win over Nebraska and was named third best game of the week.

The College Football Game of the Year Committee reads like a “Who’s Who” in college football and is chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former college football coach and athletic director best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program. It also includes former University of Georgia Head Football Coach and Athletic Director, Vince Dooley.

Other Committee members are former National Football Foundation CEO, Robert Casciola; former National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Executive Director, Mike Cleary; former Temple and Alabama State Head Coach, Ron Dickerson; former Athletic Director (AD) of Ohio State, James Jones; Managing Editor of the American Football Monthly, Rex Lardner; former AD of the University of Washington, Mike Lude; former AD of the University of California, Dave Maggard; 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, Daniel Moore; former Marshall University Head Football Coach, Bob Pruett; former AD of Arizona State, Dick Tamburo; former SID and former Associate AD of Notre Dame, Roger Valdiserri; former AD at Westpoint, Al Vanderbush; and former AD at Oklahoma State and Washington State, Dr. Richard Young.

Each weekly winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Past winners of these memorable games have included some stunning upsets, conference championship games, and BCS National Championship games.

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.

The United States Sports Academy is an independent, non-profit, regionally accredited, special mission Sports University created to serve the nation and world with programs in instruction, research, and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports. For more information about the Academy, call 251-626-3303 or visit