Texas Tech quarterback Seth Doege threw for six touchdowns and 499 yards and it was the Red Raiders offense that steamrolled over West Virginia in a 49-14 victory that earned is selection as the Week 7 winner of the United States Sports Academy’s 2012 College Football Game of the Year Contest.

Last year's United States Sports Academy's College Football Game of the Year was Alabama's shutout, 21-0, of LSU in the national championship game. Daniel Moore's painting of the Game of the Year can be purchased online at newlifeart.com.

Entering the game, the Mountaineers had a 52 point scoring average but fell short of that against the Texas Tech defense by 38 points and got just one touchdown in the second half, which came when the game was already out of reach.

The Red Raiders contained Heisman Trophy hopeful Geno Smith, who completed 29-of-55 passes for 275 yards for West Virginia but couldn’t get the ball in the end zone.

Meanwhile, Doege threw TD passes of 39, 19, 16, 2, 29 and 7 yards. He completed 32-of-42 passes and the six touchdowns matched his career-high. Texas Tech had 18 plays of 15 yards or more, including a 61-yard pass to Jace Amaro and a 53-yard touchdown run by SaDale Foster.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season.

This committee is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner