The United States Sports Academy’s 29th Annual Awards of Sport were held Nov. 14-15 on the university’s campus in Daphne, Ala., and featured many prominent sports leaders among the Board of Trustees and honorees.

“In our eyes, each and every one of the trustees and honorees are champions in their own right,” said Academy President and CEO Dr. Thomas P. Rosandich. “Thank you most sincerely to everyone who made this a very memorable Awards of Sport celebration.”

The  Academy’s 29th Annual Academy Awards of Sport, with the theme “The Artist and The Athlete,” pays tribute to those who have made significant contributions to sport with a few programs on its campus in Daphne, Ala.

This two-day event on Thursday and Friday, Nov. 14-15, includes several programs. It kicked off with the “Tribute to The Artist and The Athlete” on Thursday. The show featured world-renowned artists Charles Billich, an Australian painter, and Edward Eyth, a California sculptor. Also, WKRG Sports Director Randy Patrick received his Distinguished Service Award. The event also featured several Olympians with the Pan American Olympians Association led by its president Dr. Liston Bochette III, a Puerto Rican decathlete and bobbsledder in five Olympiads.

Billich was chosen as the American Sport Art Museum and Archives’ 2013 Sport Artist of the Year for the second time, having been honored with the award previously in 2000. Eyth won the 2008 United States Olympic Committee (USOC) Sport and Art Contest with his work, “Balance,” of a gymnast gracefully poised on a balance beam. Patrick is one of the region’s favorite television sportscasters and has won several major journalism awards.

In addition, the Academy hosted a Sport Symposium Friday, Nov. 15 where several prominent sports figures discussed major contemporary issues facing the sport industry. They handled questions on doping, corruption and paying amateur athletes among other issues. The experts, who came from the Olympics, boxing, college athletics and sport art, all shared unique insights.

Finally, the Awards of Sport celebration included the bestowing of Honorary Doctorates on Dr. Norbert Müller, the foremost expert on the Olympic Movement and Modern Olympic Games founder Pierre de Coubertin; and Dr. Ching-Kuo Wu, the president of the International Boxing Association (AIBA) credited for cleaning up corruption in that sport.

Below are photos of the 2013 award recipients and the 2013 Board of Trustees. To view more photos or download them, please click here.

Pictured above are the Academy’s 2013 Board of Trustees. In the bottom row (left to right) are: Dr. Don C. Wukasch, Austin, Texas; Dr. T.J. Rosandich, Fairhope, Ala.; Robert C. Campbell III, Esq., Chairman, Mobile, Ala.; Dr. Robert M. Goldman, Chicago, Ill.; and Dr. Robert S. Block, Reno, Nev. In the back row (left to right) are: Dr. Lee A. McElroy Jr., Albany, N.Y.; Tom Cafaro, Dudley, Mass.; Randy Smith, Trustee emeritus, Mobile, Ala.; Will Clark, Mobile, Ala.; Dr. Gary Cunningham, Santa Barbara, Calif., Jack Scharr, St. Louis, Mo.; Dr. Marino Niccolai, Mobile, Ala.; and Dr. Thomas P. Rosandich, Academy President and CEO, Daphne, Ala. Trustees not pictured are: Dr. Milly Cowles, Fairhope, Ala.; Dr. Linda Moore, Unionville, Conn.; and Peter Tichansky, New York, N.Y.

Pictured above are the Academy’s 2013 Honorees and Board of Trustees. In the bottom row (left to right) are: Dr. Norbert Müller (Honorary Doctorate); Dr. Thomas P. Rosandich, Academy President and CEO; Dr. Ching-Kuo Wu (Honorary Doctorate); Robert C. Campbell III, Esq., Trustee Chairman; and Dr. Don C. Wukasch, (Honorary Doctorate). In the scond row (left to right) are: Edward Eyth (2013 Sport Artist of the Year, Sculptor); Dr. T.J. Rosandich, Academy Vice President and COO;  Dr. Robert M. Goldman, Trustee; and Dr. Robert S. Block, Trustee. In the back row (left to right) are: Dr. Lee A. McElroy Jr., Trustee; Tom Cafaro, Trustee; Randy Smith, Trustee emeritus; Will Clark, Trustee.; Dr. Gary Cunningham, Trustee; Jack Scharr, Trustee; and Dr. Marino Niccolai, Trustee. Not pictured are honorees: Charles Billich (2013 Sport Artist of the Year, Painter) and Randy Patrick (Distinguished Service Award). Also not pictured are Trustees: Dr. Milly Cowles; Dr. Linda Moore; and Peter Tichansky.