The 2014-15 college football season is now in the books and the United States Sports Academy’s Game of the Year Committee has named Ohio State’s 42-20 convincing victory over Oregon in the inaugural College Football Playoff National Championship Game as the “2014 Game of the Year.”

Depending on the talents of a third-string quarterback, Cardale Jones, the Buckeye Head Football Coach, Urban Meyer, posted his third National Championship. Meyer is only one of two coaches to have posted Championships at two different universities.

Coming into the playoffs as the Number 4 seed, Ohio State took charge of its own destiny with a solid 42-35 win over the Number 1 seed, Alabama, in the Sugar Bowl, which served as a semi-final game. From there, the Buckeyes went on to dominate the Number 2 seed, Oregon, in the Championship game.

It has been a most interesting season as the inaugural year of the College Football Playoff (CFP) for NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) teams was ushered in and a bevy of some 40 post-season bowls were hosted beginning on 20 December and finishing with the National Championship Game played on 12 January 2015 at the impressive AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

For the ninth consecutive year, the Academy has conducted its College Football Game of the Year Award, which was developed in 2005 to pay tribute to a team whose efforts in a college football game exemplify the principles of high athletic endeavor, complete dedication to victory, and unified team effort.

The College Football Game of the Year Award is part of the Academy’s Awards of Sport series, a function of the American Sport Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA), which was established as “a tribute to the artist and the athlete.”

Nominations for the Game of the Year have been submitted weekly by a Game of the Year Committee, and culminate in a single winner at the end of the year determined by the Committee, just as this year’s winner, Ohio State over Oregon in the CFP Championship Game, has been cited.

Consisting of eminent sport leaders, the College Football Game of the Year Committee is comprised of former athletic directors and coaches along with individuals active in collegiate football, who meet specific criteria to serve on the committee and exhibit no bias in their vote.

The College Football Game of the Year Committee reads like a “Who’s Who” in college football and is chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former college football coach and athletic director best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program. It also includes legendary University of Georgia Head Football Coach and Athletic Director (AD), Vince Dooley.

Other Committee members are former National Football Foundation CEO, Robert Casciola; former National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Executive Director, Mike Cleary; former Temple and Alabama State Head Coach, Ron Dickerson; former Ohio State AD James Jones; Managing Editor of the American Football Monthly, Rex Lardner; former University of Washington AD, Mike Lude; former University of California AD, Dave Maggard; sport artist Daniel Moore; former Arizona State AD, Dick Tamburo; former Notre Dame Associate AD, Roger Valdiserri; former AD at Army, Al Vanderbush; former Texas Christian University AD, Frank Windegger; and former Oklahoma State and Washington State AD, Dr. Richard Young. Dr. Arthur Ogden, the Academy’s Chair of Sports Management and former Assistant AD at Auburn, serves as the Executive Director for the Game of the Year.

Daniel Moore, the ASAMA 2005 Sport Artist of the Year who has been long celebrated for his vivid depictions of SEC football moments, is annually commissioned by the Academy to render a painting portraying a memorable and pivotal moment to commemorate the selected College Football Game of the Year.

Moore’s most recent painting for the Game of the Year was entitled “The Runback” capturing Auburn’s Chris Davis’ “kick six” return of a failed field goal against Rival Alabama in the 2013 Iron Bowl.

In addition, the Academy contributes $5000 to the winning university’s scholarship fund.

Past winners of the Academy’s Game of the Year Award include Rutgers University in 2006, Appalachian State University in 2007, Texas Tech University in 2008, the University of Alabama in 2009 and 2011, Texas A&M University in 2012, and Auburn University in 2010 and 2013

The 2014-15 weekly winners have provided many exciting games and are listed below:

Week #1 Texas A&M over South Carolina 52-28
Week #2 Virginia Tech over Ohio State 35-21
Week #3 Boston College over USC 37-31
Week #4 Mississippi State over LSU 34-29
Week #5 Missouri over South Carolina 21-20
Week #6 Arizona over Oregon 31-24
Week #7 Baylor over TCU 61-58
Week #8 West Virginia over Baylor 41-27
Week #9 LSU over Ole Miss 10-7
Week #10 Auburn over Ole Miss 35-31
Week #11 Texas A&M over Auburn 41-38
Week #12 Alabama over Mississippi State 25-20
Week #13 Arkansas over Ole Miss 30-0
Week #14 Ole Miss over Mississippi State 31-17
Week #15 Ohio State over Wisconsin 59-0

The Academy takes this time to offer a heart-felt thanks to members of the Game of the Year Committee for their constant diligence and conscientious work throughout the entire 2014-15 season.