On a very special night in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, unheralded and unranked Boston College, as much as a 20-point underdog by some odds-makers, spotted the AP No. 9 USC Trojans 10 points with 3:16 left in the first quarter.  But the BC Eagles scored 24 unanswered points to take a 30-17 lead with 7:42 left in the game and put down the much-ballyhooed Trojans by the final score 37-31.

The game theme for BC was “Bandana Night”, a tribute to BC lacrosse player Welles Crowther who was a hero for saving many people in the 9/11 attack and lost his own life in that valiant effort.  Coach Mike Addazio awarded the game ball to Welles’ parents in the locker room after the game.

Another game ball was given to Florida transfer QB Tyler Murphy who rushed for 191 of the total 452 yards BC amassed on the USC defense.

Led by their fifth-year senior offensive line, all of whom are in graduate school at BC, the otherwise out sized and out-talented Eagles were unimpressed with the bevy of five-star players comprising the Southern Cal team. Statistically and emotionally BC dominated USC holding the vaunted Trojan rushing attack to a mere 20 total yards on the ground.

It was the first victory over a top-10 team for BC since the Eagles defeated then No. 4 ranked Notre Dame 14-7 on November 2, 2002.

For such an inspiring effort, Boston College earned “Game of the Week” honors in the United States Sports Academy’s “Game of the Year” awards series for Week #3.

This week’s voting also placed East Carolina’s 28-21 victory over Virginia Tech in second place for the Game of the Week, and South Carolina’s 38-35 win over Georgia was third.

A national panel of experts chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy, selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Award. The eminent panel consists of former and legendary coaches and sport administrators, such as Vince Dooley, Mike Lude, and Dr. Dick Young.

Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Past winners include such memorable games as Appalachian State over Michigan in 2007,  Texas Tech over Texas in 2008, Alabama over LSU in 2011, and Auburn over Alabama in 2013.

With the new FBS four-team playoff instituted this year, the promise of many more memorable games is assured.

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner.

The United States Sports Academy is an independent, non-profit, accredited, special mission Sports University created to serve the nation and world with programs in instruction, research, and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports. For more information about the Academy, call 251-626-3303 or visit www.ussa.edu.