AOM - Vote TodayThe United States Sports Academy is pleased to announce online voting is open for its Athlete of the Month ballot for the month of September, featuring 12 candidates from nine countries who made an impact in their sport during the month.

Everyone is encouraged to cast a vote on the Academy’s website at Voting will continue until 5 p.m. Central time on Thursday, 22 October 2020.

Male nominees are Bryson DeChambeau, golf, United States; Mondo Duplantis, athletics, Sweden; Mo Farah, running, Great Britain; Freddie Freeman, baseball, United States; Tadej Pogacar, cycling, Slovenia; and Russell Wilson, football, United States

Female nominees are Simona Halep, tennis, Romania; Sifan Hassan, running, the Netherlands; Peres Jepchirchir, athletics, Kenya; Malaika Mihambo, athletics, Germany; Cat Osterman, softball, United States; and Anna van der Breggen, cycling, the Netherlands

Each month, the public is invited to participate in the Academy’s worldwide Athlete of the Month program by nominating athletes and then voting online during the first week of every month. The online votes are used to guide the Academy selection committee in choosing the male and female monthly winners, who then become eligible for selection to the prestigious Athlete of the Year ballot. A worldwide public vote on the annual ballot is used to guide the committee in making the final selection.

The Athlete of the Year Award is part of the United States Sports Academy’s Awards of Sport program, which each year serves as “A Tribute to the Artist and the Athlete.” The Academy presents the awards to pay tribute to those who have made significant contributions to sport, in categories as diverse as the artist and the athlete in several different arenas of sport. The Academy’s American Sport Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) annually recognizes these men and women through its Sport Artist of the Year, Honorary Doctorates, Distinguished Service Awards, Outstanding Athletes, and Alumni of the Year awards. This is the 36th year of the Academy’s Awards of Sport program.