Wisconsin was chosen as the winner of Week 14 in the United States Sports Academy’s 2011 College Football Game of the Year contest for winning the inaugural Big Ten championship game over Michigan State, 42-39.

The victory revenged the Badgers’ regular season loss in October to the Spartans on a Hail Mary pass and clinched Wisconsin’s second straight Rose Bowl bid.

Wisconsin earned the undisputed Big Ten title thanks primarily to their two offensive leaders—running back Montee Ball and quarterback Russell Wilson. Ball scored four touchdowns, the last a game-winning 7-yard run with 3:45 left in the fourth quarter. Ball finished with 27 carries for 137 yards and he came within one TD of breaking Barry Sanders’ NCAA Division I mark of 39 career touchdowns.

Wilson, the game’s Most Valuable Player, completed 17 of 24 passes for 187 yards and 3 TDs. Wilson has thrown a touchdown pass in 37 straight games—an NCAA record for the longest streak.

A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest. Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the regular season.

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy donates the painting to the winning university, along with $5,000 for its general scholarship fund.